AMAR RAIGANJ (আমার রায়গঞ্জ)

Welcome to Amar Raiganj, A public portal website for the people of Uttar Dinajpur. This site is build for those people who are wants to get information/news about Uttar Dinajpur (i.e. Raiganj, Kaliyaganj, Islampur, etc.)


Raiganj College (University College) is one of the biggest  colleges in the Northern part of West Bengal. Established in 1948, the college has been taken over by North Bengal University in 1968, and since then it has become a University College and is been directly managed by the University of North Bengal.

The Campus sprawls over an area of 13.63 acres of land, which contains departments, teacher’s quarters, canteen, a garden of medicinal plants and mulberry garden. The college runs both honours and general courses in undergraduate level in almost all traditional subjects and a few subjects of recent origin. The College also teaches post graduate course in Bengal.

It comes under the grant-in-aid institutional category and is recognized by UGC as per its Act 2(f) and 12(B) since 1956. The college has been taken over by the University of North Bengal in 1968 as one of its University Colleges. The College imparts Undergraduate education in Arts, Science and Commerce. There are altogether 12 academic programme options with 15 Undergraduate Courses like English, Bengali, Sanskrit, History, Philosophy, Political Science, Economics, Geography, Mathematics, Chemistry, Physics, Botany, Zoology, Computer Science and Micro-Biology. Newly introduced courses are Computer Applications (BCA) and self-financing Post-Graduate courses in Bengali. The college also offers Ph.D. Programme at Department of Botany, Chemistry and Physics  under the University of North Bengal. The Sericulture Department was set up with full financial support from UGC. The College offers Honours in as many as 15 subjects including Microbiology. The students have the option to choose any combination of three subjects in a faculty as per the regulation of the North Bengal University. English and Bengali are compulsory for all the Under-Graduate programmes. Apart from the regular programmes of its own, the College serves as a study center for Netaji Subhas Open University and also as the centers of Distance Education Programme of North Bengal University. The present student strength of the College is 3775, which includes 2 overseas students, 16 students from other states, and 1195 girl students. At present there are 49 permanent teachers of whom 16 have Ph.D. And 9 have M.Phil degree. There are 3 contractual  and 16 part-time teachers, amoung them 2 are M.Phil. There are 6 technical and 27 administrative staffs.

The College volunteered for institutional accreditation by the National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC), Bangalore and submitted its self study report in December 2003. The NAAC constituted a peer team comprising of Prof S.D Tripathi, former Vice-Chancellor, Rani Durgavati University, Jabalpur and visiting Professor, Harishchandra Research Institute, Allahabad, Uttar Pradesh as Chairman; Ms Paramita Saha, Department of Analytical and Applied Economics, Tripura University, Agartala, Tripura as member and Prof Mamata Satapathy, UGC Emeritus Fellow, Department of Physics, Utkal University, Bhubaneswar, Orissa, as Member-Co-ordinator.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: